Thursday, 24 November 2016

Book Tour - Brides & Bouquets by Rebecca Raisin

Eeep! Today is release day for Brides and Bouquets by Rebecca Raisin, book 2 in the Cedarwood Lodge series.

We're running a tour that starts today, with some fabulous book bloggers! Find out more about the book and check out the tour stops below:

From the Blurb:
 
Christmas has come to Cedarwood Lodge in the second part of the feel-good romance serial from best selling author, Rebecca Raisin!

Dreaming of a happily ever after at Cedarwood Lodge is Clio Winters’ current focus, especially with a winter wonderland wedding expo planned. But with brides coming from far and wide the heat is on for Clio to fulfil everyone’s dream of a Christmas wedding!

It seems like Clio’s new business might be off to a rocky start and surrounded by love struck brides she can’t help but hope for a little Christmas romance of her own…

Cedarwood Lodge is a delectable romance told in three parts – following Clio Winters journey back to her hometown of Evergreen. This is Part Two.
 
 
About the Author:

Rebecca Raisin is a true bibliophile. This love of books morphed into the desire to write them. She’s been published in various short story anthologies and in in fiction magazines, and is now focusing on writing romance.

Rebecca aims to write characters you can see yourself being friends with. People with big hearts who care about relationships, and most importantly believe in true love.

Author Links: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Tour Schedule:


November 24 (Release Day)

November 25

November 26

November 27

November 28

November 29

November 30

December 1

Sunday, 6 November 2016

Book Tour - It's Not You, It's Them by Portia MacIntosh

Today is Day 1 of the blog tour for It's Not You, It's Them by Portia MacIntosh! Hurray!!!! <3

Below you can find out a little more about the book, plus the schedule for all the tour stops with the fabulous bloggers reviewing, sharing excerpts and guest posts! 

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01J0W743E/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&tag=lovereadroma-20&camp=1789&creative=9325&linkCode=as2&creativeASIN=B01J0W743E&linkId=6d191e1449d353bea4078b78211b29b6
From the Blurb:
 
An irresistible, feel-good romance, perfect for fans of Rosie Blake, Sophie Kinsella and Lindsey Kelk.

First comes love. Then comes family…


After a lifetime of kissing frogs, Roxie Pratt has given up on finding her own fairytale romance. That is, until she meets her very own Prince Charming, Mark Wright, and he sweeps Roxie off her feet!

So when Mark finally gets down on one knee and pops the question, there’s only one thing left to do: meet the family! And when everything has been picture-perfect so far, what could possibly go wrong…?
 
Add on Goodreads
Pre-order Links: Amazon | Amazon UK 
 
About the Author:
Portia MacIntosh has been 'making stuff up' for as long as she can remember - or so she says. Whether it was blaming her siblings for that broken vase when she was growing up, blagging her way backstage during her rock chick phase or, most recently, whatever justification she can fabricate to explain away those lunchtime cocktails, Portia just loves telling tales. After years working as a music journalist, Portia decided it was time to use her powers for good and started writing novels. Taking inspiration from her experiences on tour with bands, the real struggle of dating in your twenties and just trying to survive as an adult human female generally, Portia writes about what it's really like for women who don't find this life stuff as easy as it seems.
 

Monday, 24 October 2016

Release Day - Celebrations and Confetti by Rebecca Raisin

It's release day for Celebrations and Confetti by Rebecca Raisin and here at Love Reading Romance we are running a book tour to spread the word about this wonderful new release!

From the Blurb:
Part one in a feel-good romantic serial from bestselling author Rebecca Raisin!

Clio Winters is finally fulfilling her childhood dream of renovating the gorgeous old Cedarwood Lodge in Evergreen. Turning it into the perfect destination for big celebrations, weddings and parties has brought her back home, but Cedarwood Lodge is in need of a lot of tender loving care.

Perhaps all the work will be the perfect distraction from the real reason she had to leave her glamorous New York life behind.

Will coming home be the best decision of her life… or her biggest regret?

Cedarwood Lodge is a delectable romance told in three parts - following Clio Winters journey back to her hometown of Evergreen. This is Part One.
 
Book Links: Amazon | Amazon UK | B&N | Google Play | Goodreads


To follow all the excitement of the Celebration and Confetti release, check out the reviews, excerpts and guest posts that are part of the blog tour:

Tour Schedule

October 24 (Release Day)
October 25
October 26
October 27
October 28
October 31 
 
http://tours.readingromance.com/2016/08/celebrations-and-confetti-at-cedarwood.html
 
 

Sunday, 11 September 2016

The Emperor's Arrow by Lauren D.M. Smith - Book Review

http://amzn.to/2cdJ3Om
From the Blurb:

Grand Prize Winner of Harlequin's 2015 So You Think You Can Write contest

Debut author Lauren D.M. Smith delivers an epic fantasy romance in this soaring tale of a kickass warrior and the emperor she's honor-bound to defend


The bride candidates have been summoned. Their numbers are many, yet only one is an Amazzi warrior. Only one would give her life to protect him.


Evony of Aureline, warrior of her people, has no intention of becoming a hideous old man's bride. Though her people have sworn their loyalty to the legendary emperor Galen, Evony knows little of courts and intrigue. It's simply not her world.

Yet it's on the palace training grounds where Evony's archery skills gain her the respect of soldiers and legates alike. The emperor himself takes notice of the beautiful, ruthless warrior. In turn, the young, steely eyed Galen is nothing at all what Evony expected.

This man could very well conquer her heart. But does he feel the same?

As the rivalry among the remaining bride candidates intensifies and the plot for the throne unfolds, Evony must make a grave choice: fulfill her destiny and protect her people or follow her heart and pursue true love.

Either way, the honor of the Amazzi people and the future of the empire now rests with Evony of Aureline. For she is the Emperor's Arrow.

Review:

Evony is a warrior, not a simpering bride-to-be, and yet she must take part in the emperor's contest for a bride when she is called. She expects to find the whole thing a little tedious, but she doesn't expect to find herself sucked into the center of court intrigue and defending the emperor against an assassination plot. She certainly doesn't expect to find the emperor quite so attractive...

The Emperor's Arrow begins by introducing us to Evony as a fairly unstoppable warrior - she can hit a single leaf in a tree with an arrow, and her prowess doesn't diminish through the story. She's loyal to her friends and to the emperor, brave and strong, which is pretty much what I look for in a fantasy heroine. Unfortunately she's all these things to a fault - being that she doesn't really have any faults. I did enjoy her adventures as a character, but there wasn't really much character development beyond her discovering that she could fall for a man - and this also, unfortunately, wasn't all that convincing to me. She's just a bit too cool, so I couldn't totally see what she saw in the emperor. It didn't help that we don't get to know him very well - the story is entirely set from Evony's perspective and I struggled a little to fall into the romance from this limited side. There wasn't enough build up for their feelings... and then suddenly they were deeply in love.

So yeah, that's a little negative of the romance, I must admit. However, I did end up enjoying this novel. As a fantasy read, it has a lot to offer. Like I said, while Evony could do with a little more character development, she is an exciting protagonist. We also have some other interesting characters, particularly her friend Admina, who is a much quieter, but no less interesting character with perhaps even more of a story to tell than Evony. The world building in The Emperor's Arrow is also really good. I liked the court intrigue, and the descriptions of the clans and all their cultural differences. This, along with quite a bit of action, made the story worth reading in the end, even if it wasn't quite what I was hoping for when I picked it up.

The romance in The Emperor's Arrow didn't quite work for me, but it is nonetheless an enjoyable fantasy read with an exciting world. I'll be interested to see what else Lauren D.M. Smith comes up with.

The Emperor's Arrow by Lauren D.M. Smith is a fantasy romance, released by Carina on July 1, 2016.

Book Links: Amazon | Amazon UK | Publisher | Goodreads